Mike Pesca http://wjsu.org en 5 Points To Help Simplify Sunday's Super Bowl http://wjsu.org/post/5-points-help-simplify-sundays-super-bowl The chatter, hype and jargon in the weeks leading up to Sunday's Super Bowl XLVIII is more impenetrable than the Seahawk's secondary.<p>Perhaps you've heard the Seattle Seahawks have a running back who enters "Beast Mode." Maybe you've heard that the Denver Broncos' counter to Beast Mode is a defensive lineman <a href="http://sports.yahoo.com/news/from--beast-mode--to--pot-roast--to--pig---a-primer-on-super-bowl-nicknames-011914808.html">nicknamed</a> "Pot Roast."<p>Vociferously debating Beast Mode versus Pot Roast is no longer the exclusive domain of a <a href="http://www.wizards.com/Magic/Su Sun, 02 Feb 2014 10:30:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 23108 at http://wjsu.org 5 Points To Help Simplify Sunday's Super Bowl Cold Super Bowl Could Lead To More Turnovers http://wjsu.org/post/super-bowl-sunday Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>This Sunday's Super Bowl features the number one defense, the Seattle Seahawks, against the number one offense, the Denver Broncos and Peyton Manning. That is a surprisingly rare matchup, number one defense against number one offense. It's only happened a few times in all the Super Bowls to date. But of course that means there is a defense and an offense in the game that are not number one. NPR's Mike Pesca looks at what having greatness in one phase of the game does to the rest of the team.<p>MIKE PESCA, BYLINE: This year the Denver defense was OK. Thu, 30 Jan 2014 09:48:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 23008 at http://wjsu.org NFL Thursday Matchup: 2 Losing Teams Will Still Get Ratings http://wjsu.org/post/nfl-thursday-matchup-2-losing-teams-will-still-get-ratings Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It must be said the NFL game between the Houston Texans and the Jacksonville Jaguars tomorrow night, is not a marquee matchup. The Texans are two-and-10, the Jaguars look a little better, having won three of their last four games, but that was only after losing the first eight games of the season. Wed, 04 Dec 2013 10:03:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 21021 at http://wjsu.org 'Fetch Clay, Make Man': Ali, Fetchit And The 'Anchor Punch' http://wjsu.org/post/fetch-clay-make-man-ali-fetchit-and-anchor-punch ---<p>Muhammad Ali's first title defense, a first-round TKO of Sonny Liston in 1965, <a href="http://life.time.com/icons/muhammad-ali-sonny-liston-and-the-phantom-punch-title-bout-1965/#1" target="_blank">propelled Ali to the status of icon</a>. In Ali's training camp before the fight was an icon from an earlier era: Lincoln Perry. He was the first African-American movie star, who went by the stage name Stepin Fetchi. Fri, 11 Oct 2013 21:56:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 19302 at http://wjsu.org 'Fetch Clay, Make Man': Ali, Fetchit And The 'Anchor Punch' What To Make Of Tiger Woods' Major-less Year http://wjsu.org/post/what-make-tiger-woods-major-less-year By the standard of normal golfing mortals, Tiger Woods has had an incredible summer. He's won multiple tournaments and millions of dollars in prize money. What he didn't do was win any of golf's four major championships, and that has led some to write off Woods' 2013 as a failure.<p>He's had the most top 10 finishes on the PGA tour this year, but for him, that's not the measure of success. Woods has won more money on the tour than any of his peers, but for him, money isn't the measure. Woods has won five tournaments this year; the next closest competitor has only two wins. Fri, 23 Aug 2013 21:49:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 17723 at http://wjsu.org What To Make Of Tiger Woods' Major-less Year